Ascension Parish School Board


Instructional Supervisor Latatia Johnson Appointed to National Education Advisory Board

This is a media release from Ascension Public Schools.
View this email in your browser
CONTACT: Jackie Tisdell, 225-210-7567

Instructional Supervisor Latatia Johnson Appointed to National Education Advisory Board 

Ascension Public Schools Instructional Supervisor Latatia Johnson
The following is a media release by the National Institute for Excellence in Teaching (NIET). 

Santa Monica, CA—The National Institute for Excellence in Teaching (NIET) has appointed 11 educators and district leaders to its Educator Advisory Board for the 2017-18 year, including Ascension Public Schools Instructional Supervisor Latatia Johnson. The members will bring experience from a variety of education settings in urban, rural and suburban areas.

During the year, members will assist NIET with its ongoing mission to advance educator effectiveness through policy, research and service. Activities will include providing input on NIET's technologies and developments—from K-12 to higher education—participating in conferences, and engaging with NIET staff on the most important issues facing the education community today.

"Collaborating with leaders at all levels has been critical in our work to advance educator effectiveness," said NIET CEO Dr. Gary Stark. "Every board member has made significant progress strengthening instruction and student learning. I look forward to their contributions, and am confident these relationships will enhance our efforts to accommodate the needs of our partners across the country."

"It is an honor to be a member of such a prestigious board," said Latatia Johnson. "It will afford me the opportunity to collaborate with educators across the nation around best practices to address issues in education in addition to advocating for educator effectiveness, which is the most critical factor in student achievement."

For nearly 20 years, NIET has been a pioneer in developing comprehensive systems for teacher leadership, professional development, evaluation and compensation. The public nonprofit partners with schools, districts, states, and most recently, has joined forces with universities to ensure that educators are prepared on day one.

The 2017-18 NIET Educator Advisory Board Members are:

Cade Brumley
DeSoto Parish Schools, Louisiana

Vickie Carpenter
Assistant Superintendent
Perry Township Schools, Indiana

Danijela Duvnjak
Director of Teaching and Learning
Hmong College Preparatory Academy, Minnesota

Betsy Hargrove
Avondale Elementary School District #44, Arizona

Saul Hinojosa
Somerset Independent School District, Texas

Latatia Johnson
Instructional Supervisor
Ascension Public Schools, Louisiana

Pat Lewis
Deputy Superintendent of Innovation and School Improvement
Grand Prairie Independent School District, Texas

Traci Lust
TAP Executive Master Teacher and Elementary Master Teacher
Saydel Community School District, Iowa

Liz Martin
TAP Master Teacher
Goshen Community Schools, Indiana

Mindy Searcy
Cross County School District, Arkansas

Lee Wilkerson
Director of Schools
Manchester City Schools, Tennessee

About NIET
Equipped with a diverse staff of educators, researchers, and policy experts, NIET is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization that pursues a mission to advance educator effectiveness. NIET supports schools, districts, universities, and states with educator evaluation training, evaluator certification modules linked to learning platforms, human capital management systems as well as tools and resources for educator preparation. The organization impacts more than 250,000 teachers and 2.5 million students. Learn more at

For more information about NIET, visit, or contact NIET Communications Director Jana Rausch at (310) 570-4774 (office) or 

For more information about Ascension Public Schools, visit

David Alexander

Patricia Russo

Board President

Taft Kleinpeter
Board Vice President

Robyn Penn Delaney

Scott Duplechein
Julie Blouin
Kerry Diez
John Murphy
Shawn Sevario
Louis Lambert
Troy Gautreau, Sr.
Lorraine Wimberly
ABOUT ASCENSION PUBLIC SCHOOLS: The Ascension Public Schools system is the largest employer in the parish with over 2,800 employees that support 22,500 students in 27 schools.  An A-rated school district since 2011-12, school performance has grown by 69% over the past four years and currently ranks fourth in Louisiana.
  • G.W. Carver Primary won the prestigious 2017 National TAP Founder's Award
  • Dutchtown Middle student Aubrey Green was a finalist for the 2017 Louisiana Middle School Student of the Year and Dutchtown's Hiba Hasan was the 2016 Louisiana Middle School Student of the Year
  • Former St. Amant High Principal Mia Edwards was a semifinalist for 2018 Louisiana Principal of the Year
  • Ascension Public Schools earned the Government Finance Officers Association's (GFOA) Distinguished Budget Presentation Award for the fourth consecutive year. Ascension is one of only two school districts in Louisiana to achieve this honor.
  • Ascension Public Schools won a Gold Medallion Award from the National School Public Relations Association, the only recipient from Louisiana to receive this top honor in recent history